About us
Lombard News
Villa Park News
Publisher's Desk
Speak Out
Police Blotters
Coming Events
Out and About
On The Beat

Waves and Mariners strive for season-best times

The Lombard Waves and Villa Park Mariners joined two other teams to compete in Saturday’s DuPage Swim and Dive Conference Red Division “B” Meet in Hanover Park. Instead of squaring off against their opponents at the meet, the swimmers from Lombard, Villa Park, Bloomingdale and Hanover Park battled against themselves. The main goal of each swimmer at the “B” meet was to set a personal-best time for the season in each individual event. Each swimmer was able to take part in as many as four individual events at the meet. There were no relay races at the meet.

A total of 95 Lombard swimmers joined 44 Mariners to take part in the “B” meet, which also included 51 members of the Bloomingdale Barracudas and 28 competitors from the Hanover Park Sailfish. Villa Park swimmers earned personal-best times in 76 percent (117 of 154) of their events. The Waves who swam at Saturday’s meet reached personal-best times in 68 percent (191 of 282) events. The members of both the Bloomingdale and Hanover Park teams succeeded in reaching personal-best times in 75 percent of their events. The Barracudas secured their best times in 118 of 158 races, while Hanover Park swimmers achieved the goal for the meet in 79 of 105 total events.

While some members of the Waves and Mariners completed the 2015 season at the “B” meet, others will wrap up the season at this Saturday’s Red Division “A” Meet in Bloomingdale. The team that earns first-place honors in the overall Red Division standings will move up to compete in the conference’s White Division in 2016. The fourth-place team in the Red Division standings will be a member of the conference’s Blue Division next year.